Torch bearers  of law
Updated on Jan 17, 2015 - 10:53 a.m. IST by Sakthismart

This lawyer with a thriving practice in South Africa gave it up to fight the might of the British with a novel weapon, the Satyagraha. Breaking unjust laws was his way of ensuring justice

Mahatma Gandhi

Freedom fighter, social reformer.
Alumnus of University College London





V-R-Krishna-IyerKnown for granting a stay on the Allahabad HC’s judgment which led to the Emergency. He also made lasting contributions to prison jurisprudence in terms of undertrials, hand cuffing and solitary confinement


Justice V. R. Krishna Iyer

Judge in Supreme Court (17.07.1973 to 14.11.1980)
Alumnus, Annamalai University;
B. Law from Madras Law College



Mohamad-ChaglaHe is  the first permanent Indian Chief Justice of the Bombay High Court. Served as education minister for many years. Was also an ad hoc Judge to the International Court of Justice at The Hague


Justice M.C. Chagla

Chief Justice, Bombay High Court (1948-1958) Alumnus, BA Honours,
School of Modern History, Oxford University




Ram JethmalaniThis famous criminal lawyer has been at the forefront of many controversial cases including the one on bringing the black money back. He was the President of the Supreme Court Bar Association and has also been a Professor at GLC Mumbai for many years


Ram Jethmalani

Former Law Minister (1996), (1999-2000),
LLB and LLM from S.C. Shahani
Law College, Karachi



Fali Sam NarimanInstrumental in  judiciary taking over the right to appoint judges. A constitutional expert, he secured the power of judicial review over legislations specifically exempted from such oversight


Fali Sam Nariman

Former Additional solicitor General of India (1972-’75) Alumnus,
St. Xavier’s College (Bombay) LLB from Government Law College (Bombay)



Dr-Rajendra-prasadThe first President of India, (1950-’62), he practised at the Calcutta and Patna High Courts. Gave up law practice in 1920 to join the non-cooperation movement. He was honoured with the Bharat Ratna in 1962


Dr Rajendra Prasad

Alumnus, Presidency College, Calcutta,
MA (Eco.), and BL from University of Calcutta



Dr B. R. AmbedkarHe was a Jurist, political leader, social reformer, historian, economist and philosopher. He was the Chairman of the Drafting Committee of the Indian Constitution, and the first law minister of India. Awarded the Bharat Ratna in 1990 - India’s highest civilian award


Dr B. R. Ambedkar

Alumnus, BA from University of Mumbai,
MA (Economics) & PhD from Columbia University




M-N-VenkatachaliahThe 25th Chief Justice of India headed the National Commission to review the working of the Constitution. He was awarded Padma Vibhushan in 2004


Justice M.N. Venkatachaliah

Former Chief Justice of India

 BSc, LLB, University of Mysore

Applications Open Now

UPES LLM Admissions 2020
UPES LLM Admissions 2020
Lovely Professional University - LAW Admissions 2020
Lovely Professional Universit...
PES University Law Admissions 2020
PES University Law Admissions...
UPES - Integrated LLB Programs
UPES - Integrated LLB Programs
KIIT University (KIITEE- 2020)
KIIT University (KIITEE- 2020)
View All Application Forms
The question have been saved in answer later, you can access it from your profile anytime. Access now

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
24,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books